RockStation

Hopefully we can release the album next spring: An Interview with Brant Bjork of Kyuss Lives! drummer

2012. június 16. - scorn

0kyuss2011_20.jpg

RS: It’s your second show within almost a year Hungary. Do you remember the one you had here last year?
BB: Sure, as I remember it was a good show. But you know if you play as often as we do, days blend into each other. But I remember visiting your country several time either with this band or with my other band and it’s a always a pleasure to be here.

RS: Can you tell me a few words about Nick’s departure?
BB: Well, you know we had the lawsuit which Josh filed and Nick have his own personal legal issues. And the two lawsuits, together, it was too much for him. He did not want to be part of the two cases at once, neither in a direct or in an indirect way. So one day he thought that being in the band does not worth it. Of course it’s just my opinion, honestly, you have to ask Nick himself.

RS: So do you think if there would not have been the lawsuit which Josh filed, then Nick would be still in the band?
BB: I don’t know, but....very likely. In the beginning when we started to reform the band and started to play together, it was all going very good. But after Nick had that issue with the law in Los Angeles, things have changed. You could see that he had his mind on that issue, because what he is dealing with is pretty serious.

RS: So he could not concentrate on the band.
BB: Personally, I felt that his presence in the band... he wasn’t as present as he used to. These two lawsuits started to consume his inner consciousness and he was not the same after that.

RS: Another weird thing about your legal issue. As far as I know, Scott had been playing with you recently on some shows. Even so, after a while he joined Josh in the lawsuit. So what the fuck?
BB: You know, we were as surprised as the public. We only heard about the lawsuit when YOU heard about it. When Nick got into that trouble and he could not play with us, we naturally contacted Scott to fill the bassist role. And he was very pleased and he immediately said “yes”. We had a good time, we played great shows. Everything went fine util the end of the year, we finished the year at a high peak, we were motivated and had many plans for 2012. Still, the issue happened at the end of the year.

0kyuss2011_23.jpg
RS: Speaking of new plans, do you have anything to share with us about the new Kyuss album?
BB: Well, basically we the new material is already composed. We will begin the recording session when we get home from touring. Hopefully, we can release the album next spring.

RS: As many many years passed since the last Kyuss album, the question arises: what’s the new material like?
BB: Well..
RS: I guess it’s hard to answer.
BB: Yes, haha. I don’t know. I can say that we did not try to write Kyuss songs, but also did try to write non-Kyuss songs. We just let the things happen and I believe that it’s a very good stuff.

RS: Who were the main songwriters?
BB: Honestly, most of the songs were written by myself with the help of Bruno. And the majority of the lyrics were done by John, so it’s really a collective effort.

RS: What about your solo materials?
BB: Well, in the next couple of months I won’t deal with solo stuff, because I’m gonna work on the Kyuss album. But I have 2 or 3 written materials on the shelf, from which I want to release a few until the end of the year. And of course there are a lot of songs in my backlog. So I’ll have plenty of things to do when I can concentrate on this again. But as you know Kyuss Lives! requires a lot of attention and devotion and now are commited to this as much as we can. Then when we had released the album and had it toured, we’ll surely take a break and will deal with our own stuff.

RS: Can you tell me what were the bands which inspired you to be a musician. What motivated you to to start playing?
BB: You mean when I was young.
RS: Yes.
BB: Well I always loved a lots of different music. But the music which motivated me to be a musician was punk rock. The Ramones, Black Flag, I felt that I want by own band because of them. Then as I got older I started to get into the music of the 60s and 70s. Jimi Hendrix, Black Sabbath, Cream, The Beatles. But as I mentioned I listen to lots of stuff, like jamaican music, jazz and others.

0kyuss2011_16.jpg
RS: Are you interested in new bands? Do you have any favourite from the current scene?
BB: Well, you know, as I usually say that, because of this lifestyle I spend most of my day listening to music anyway and as I got a family I do not sit down and listen to that much music as I used to. So if I have time, then I listen to the older stuff. I still feel that from the old bands, there are still a lot of music which I do not yet know of, but I must to listen to them. And by this, I mostly mean jazz music.

RS: How do you keep the balance between your touring rockstar lifestlye and your family?
BB: I think it’s based on the perspective. You know, how you look at things. When I’m at home, family comes first and I try to be present in the family as much as I can. Besides this, music is very imporant, because that’s my profession, my carrier, my passion. And it’s also my job, so from this point, you have to take it seriously. When the time comes to work, I work, like anybody else. I work hard and try to do my best. Really, as for each man, I have to be a father, earn money for the living, support my family and do my job.

RS: One last question, will you play Demon Cleaner tonight?
BB: Tonight? Haha. Well, you know we played it on the last tour, so I don’t think so.
RS: Well you did not play it Hungary!
BB: Yes, not in Hungary, but it’s always random you know.
RS: I’m asking because I remember that when the show was over, besides the happy faces of the crowd and cheering about how great it was, most of them were yelling “Ah man, they did not play Demon Cleaner!!”
BB: You know it’s interesting how one portion of the fans want us to play it, and how the other portion of them not care about it. We have a limited time, so we cannot play everything. There are many Kyuss songs which I like, and we did not play them. Well, we will se. [They did not play it.]

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://rockstation.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr714591068

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása
ROCKSTATION online rockzenei magazin
rsszerk@rockstation.hu |  Impresszum