RockStation

A zenészkollégák is megemlékeztek Reed Mullinról

2020. január 29. - theshattered

0corrosionofconformity2011_4.jpgSajnos a Vén Kaszás idén is szorgosan kezdte az évet, már most annyi veterán, méltó muzsikust elragadott közülünk, hogy csak értetlenül pislogunk, reméljük, ez az iram hamarosan megáll. Viszont a Corrosion Of Conformity dobosát, Reed Mullint már sajnos semmi sem hozza vissza, csak emlékezni tudunk rá, ahogy tette ezt a zenei világ több neves képviselője is.

A bejegyzés megtekintése az Instagramon

I got the sad news last night that my friend Reed Mullin passed away. Reed was the drummer for one of my all-time favorite bands, Corrosion of Conformity, & he is also one of the reasons I am a singer in a band today. Back in 1985, C.O.C. put out their ground-breaking hardcore crossover record, “Animosity” & from the first time I heard it I loved it- I wore that freaking tape out. My favorite track on that album is one Reed sang, “Hungry Child.” One day I was going skateboarding with some older dudes in Wilmington, NC (I was around 15 years old at the time) & we were in a car driving to the spot- someone threw “Animosity” into the cassette deck. When “Hungry Child” came on, I started singing along. The driver turned around & said “Damn, kid- you can actually sing like that. You should be in a band one day.” That was the first time anyone had ever told me that, I never forgot it, & I never will. If you listen to the way I scream at times, & you listen to “Hungry Child” you’ll hear Reed in my delivery. I told Reed that story many years later, after we had become friends, & he was super stoked. Reed was an O.G. punk rocker from the American South, a place where it wasn’t easy to be different in back in the day. He booked shows for other bands who came through Raleigh, NC, & was super important to the development of the hardcore scene in general. I met him for the first time in an airport when he came up to me & said “Nice shirt!” (I was wearing a C.O.C. one)- we became friends, I got to interview him for my radio show, & I even sang in his super group, Teenage Time Killers. Once in the 80’s my brother & I went to go see C.O.C.- my brother didn’t have enough money to buy a t-shirt, so Reed (who was selling merch after the gig) traded him one for the Black Flag t-shirt he was wearing- that’s the kinda dude he was. Reed also played at the hands-down greatest gig I ever saw- Bad Brains, C.O.C., & Leeway in VA Beach in the 80’s. I took this photo when my band took out C.O.C. on tour- we played freaking Red Rocks on that run- not too shabby for two dirt bag punk rockers from the South. Rest In Peace, Reed- you’re a legend & an influence & I’ll miss ya, bro.

D. Randall Blythe (@drandallblythe) által megosztott bejegyzés,

A bejegyzés megtekintése az Instagramon

So sad to hear the news of Reed Mullin. That’s just not fair. Such an amazing talent to have initially come from the hardcore scene. I remember seeing him wearing a white Trouble t-shirt in Maximum Rock n Roll and wanted to know who that band was. I met him many times, mainly when Cathedral and COC were staying at the Columbia hotel at the same time during the 90’s, which seemed like every week to be honest! One of the funniest was visiting them at Electric Ladyland studios in the middle of the night, whilst they were mixing. I was completely off my trolley. We played with them on several occasions during the early 90s, which was always a pleasure and a great time. Every other year he would send an email, checking in to ask how I was doing. I probably have some personal photos but don’t have them to hand right now. RIP mate and condolences to your family, friends and former band mates.

Lee Dorrian (@lee_dorrian) által megosztott bejegyzés,

A bejegyzés megtekintése az Instagramon

Reed Mullin Rest in peace my brother So sad..... #corrosionofconformity #reedmullin #rip

Harley Flanagan (@harleyfflanagan) által megosztott bejegyzés,

A bejegyzés megtekintése az Instagramon

So sad to hear about the passing of Reed Mullin of COC. I was blown away by early COC albums like “Eye For An Eye” and “Animosity” but my whole musical world changed when I heard “Blind”. So many incredible riffs, thoughtful and challenging lyrics and Reed’s monstrous drummer and the loudest ride cymbal in the history of metal. @darkicondesign played it for me and we knew everything about what we were writing for Overcast was going to change. The record still sounds timeless and will be in heavy rotation today as a tribute to Reed’s incredible drumming and influence of the whole metal and hardcore scene. Rest In Peace. #RIPReedMullin #FlyOnReed #CorrosionOfConformity

Brian Fair (@brianshadfall) által megosztott bejegyzés,

A bejegyzés megtekintése az Instagramon

I don’t know what to say... He was my friend & I’ll miss him. This one hurts... ☮️� @coccabal

Mike IX Williams (@southernnihilismfront) által megosztott bejegyzés,

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://rockstation.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr7215435048

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása
ROCKSTATION online rockzenei magazin
rsszerk@rockstation.hu |  Impresszum